Dumplings Galore at Din Tai Fung

This past weekend, I was at Westfield Santa Anita in Arcadia and I had dinner at Din Tai Fung. It is a restaurant chain that originated from Taipei, Taiwan and is known for its dumplings and noodles.

img_3284

There is a window at the front of the restaurant that looks into a part of the kitchen. Customers can watch the chefs making the dumplings while waiting for their tables.

The dumplings were small and adorable, and were served in bamboo steamers. The serving size was the precise amount needed to enjoy the meal without overeating. I ordered the Shrimp & Pork dumplings and the Shrimp & Pork Shao Mai. As if that wasn’t enough, I also tried the Shrimp & Pork Potstickers. I should really try for some variety next time. Regardless, all of them were delicious.

My next venture was the Pork Bun. It was also small, and only one bun is served. If you have no problems with the size, you can also ask the server to cut the bun in half if you want to share it with someone.

img_3290

The Sweet & Sour Spare Ribs were available as a special. The meat was very tender. I recommend ordering it- just be careful of the bones!

All in all, Din Tai Fung was another place that I enjoyed. However, I will probably only stop by when I have extra money to burn, as it is quite pricey. If you happen to be in Southern California, you can find the restaurant in other locations: Costa Mesa, Glendale and Torrance.

2 thoughts on “Dumplings Galore at Din Tai Fung

Leave a Reply

