Band of Horses Performs at Pomona Fox Theater

Band of Horses

I’m ashamed to admit that I have never seen Band of Horses live, despite how long I’ve been listening to them. But I finally got the chance to see them in Pomona at the Fox Theater last night.

The Seattle band’s current lineup is Ben Bridwell (vocals), Bill Reynolds (bass), Tyler Ramsey (guitar), Ryan Monroe (keyboards) and Creighton Barrett (drums). Band of Horses has five full-length albums, with their most recent album Why Are You Okay released in June of this year.

Band of Horses

Their performance was worth the 1.5 hour drive to the Fox Theater. The band opened with “Is There a Ghost,” which pumped me up along with the rest of the audience. Throughout the entire set, Band of Horses threw handfuls of candy into the audience. It was a silly but endearing way to engage with the crowd.

Some other songs they played were “The First Song,” “Islands on the Coast” and “St. Augustine.”  Their 2006 single “The Funeral” received one of the biggest cheers from the crowd. It has been used in many different movies and shows, such as How I Met Your Mother, One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl.

But the song I was looking forward to the whole night was “No One’s Gonna Love You.” So I screamed the moment the first few notes to the song began. Its title is misleading, as the actual song lyrics are, “No one’s gonna love you more than I do.”

The song’s lyrics are bittersweet. They tell a story of a devoted lover who tries to keep a relationship together. You can listen to the song below:

“No One’s Gonna Love You”- Band of Horses

Band of Horses’ music gives off a peaceful ambience, and I tend to play it during my naps. I recommend listening to them whenever you want to relax.

Leave a Reply

