Anime Los Angeles 2017 Recap

ALA 2017

I’ll be honest. I’m a “noob” when it comes to cons. I’ve only started attending them a few years ago. And this was my first time attending Anime Los Angeles. Although I had a badge for the entire weekend, I elected to work on Friday to avoid the trouble of asking for time off for work. My plan was to drive up to Ontario after work.

That was a mistake.

What would’ve been a 50-minute trip instead took 2 hours. By the time I arrived at the Azure Hotel, it was 8 p.m. and the hall was closed. The only choice I had that first night was to hang out with friends and my boyfriend around the hotels.

I had better luck on Saturday. I cosplayed Megumi Tadokoro from Shokugeki no Soma (or Food Wars) while my boyfriend cosplayed Soma Yukihara. We joined a Shokugeki no Soma cosplay group and was invited to do a photo shoot with them.

ALA 2017

I got to pose with this adorable dog dressed up as Amaterasu from Okami. Find him on instagram @sirgriffingreat!

Posing for shoots doesn’t come naturally to me, despite participating in some in the past. And I regretted not bringing a prop to pose with. Nonetheless, I had fun and I wish the shoot had lasted longer. I really need to practice posing for photos if I plan to join any shoots in the future.

I spotted a couple cosplays that caught my eye. I even found a Final Fantasy XV cosplay group that I’ve been seeing around on the internet. There were also a couple D.C. groups that were having a photo shoot.

Despite having a lot of money in my pocket for the con, I limited myself on things to buy. My walls are already filled with prints, so I didn’t want to buy more. I ended up buying some Final Fantasy XIV charms for some friends and myself. I also bought a Digimon playing card set.

ALA 2017

Sunday was the last day, and the hall closed early. I visited it one last time in case I missed anything else that I wanted to buy. Since it was a casual day, I dressed up as Umaru from Himouto! Umaru-chan. That cosplay is so simple and comfortable.

ALA 2017

I had a fun experience, despite having some social anxiety issues throughout the weekend. I regret not arriving during day 0, because my weekend felt so short. The best part about ALA 2017 is that the con is so much smaller than AX. I didn’t have to spend my time gritting my teeth in the dealers hall because I was actually able to walk around without being crushed.

10 out of 10, would go again! 🙂

 

One thought on “Anime Los Angeles 2017 Recap

Leave a Reply

