The Simplified Fire Emblem Game: Fire Emblem Heroes

Fire Emblem Heroes

Nintendo caused the Fire Emblem fan in me to scream during their Nintendo Direct earlier this year when they announced a line of games coming to the franchise. Along with Fire Emblem Warriors for the Nintendo Switch, a mobile game called Fire Emblem Heroes and a game for the 3DS called Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia were on their way.

Fire Emblem Heroes was the closest release, so I counted down the weeks until it was released for the iOS. Then the day finally came and I downloaded it as soon as I had the chance. Although I don’t play mobile games often, I had to play this one simply because it was an installment of one of my favorite franchises. About three weeks have passed since Fire Emblem Heroes was released and it’s still in the Top 10 Grossing Chart in the App Store. And I’m still not tired of it.

I couldn’t even make it past the downloading screen before I texted all my fellow FE-loving friends that I was so excited to play. The graphics were amazing.

Since it’s a mobile game, I knew better than to expect a full-fledged Fire Emblem game.

But Fire Emblem Heroes still contains the essence of the series.

You can only bring out four units each chapter, but the weapon triangle still applies. The board is static, so any enemy units you see on the screen are the only ones you’ll be fighting in the chapter. There will be no surprise waves of enemies like the traditional Fire Emblem games. Also, every single attack lands in the mobile game, so you don’t have to worry about anything missing.

Here’s another feature you don’t have to worry about: Permadeath. If your unit dies on a map, he/she will still be available to play again once you finish the chapter. But any exp that the unit received in that chapter will disappear if he or she dies- so be careful!

During the release, only 9 chapters were available. But you could play them in Normal, Hard and Lunatic. The recent update added Paralogue 1, which is split into three parts.

But let’s be honest, what all of us Fire Emblem fans care about in this game is collecting our waifus or husbandos.

Familiar Fire Emblem characters are available in Fire Emblem Heroes. You gain more units to add to your team by “summoning” them with Summoning Orbs. But these orbs are a cash trap, especially if you’re trying to get a specific character, since the draws are random.

You only receive a few orbs at a time, by logging in every day or completing maps or challenges. There’s an option to buy orbs from the shop with real money, so any obsessive player can easily fall into a deep, dark hole that sucks everything out their wallet.

Since you get a couple free draws at the start, many people tried to beat the system by restarting their games over and over until they receive their favorite characters. Unfortunately, I didn’t do that. But no worries, all that really mattered to me was eventually getting my husbando, Marth.

Fire Emblem Heroes

Stamina also blocks people from spending too many hours at a time on the game.

Unless, of course, you’re willing to shell out some money to buy more Stamina Potions. But honestly, I prefer it this way, because I don’t want this game to suck up all my time. It’s nice to be able to play it here and there throughout my day without feeling too guilty about wasting time.

One turnoff I have with mobile games is the fact that many of them severely limit what you can do if you’re not willing to spend money. Despite the many ways that Fire Emblem Heroes can potentially drain your money supply, it is entirely possible to play and enjoy the game without dropping a cent. I’m thankful for this, especially after hearing that there’s a paywall to continue playing Nintendo’s other recent mobile game, Super Mario Run.

Fire Emblem Heroes is still new and more content will be added in the coming weeks.

I look forward to the future character and story line additions. Some people I know have never played any Fire Emblem games before trying out this mobile game, but now they’re interested in trying out the franchise. It truly made me happy when someone asked me for recommendations on which games to start with first.

Thus far, this game continues to capture my attention and is helping me get through the wait until the next Fire Emblem game’s release. I can see myself playing Fire Emblem Heroes for quite some time.

4 thoughts on “The Simplified Fire Emblem Game: Fire Emblem Heroes

  1. Good write up! I was really hesitant going into the game since the battle system is so simplified and there isn’t much room for too much strategy. That said, it’s turned out to be quite fun and more worthwhile than it needed to be for a mobile experience. Also, one day I will get Lyn on my team! >_>

    Like

      • Haha yeah it is. Whenever I summon a unit, and there’s that extra pause and ring of dust that flies out from the summoning stone, it feels like an eternity as I brace myself for who comes through next! 😛

        That said, do you share your writing on any other sites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. Would you be open to the idea of crossposting your work on our Creators fansite or sharing you wordpress posts with the users in our Facebook group? My e-mail and more info can be found on my page if you’ve got any questions.

        Like

Leave a Reply

