Pigging Out at Disney’s Food & Wine Festival

food and wine festival

Attention, foodies! Now’s the perfect time to visit Disney California Adventure Park. From now until April 16, the park is holding its Food & Wine Festival.

The festival offers various events, including culinary demonstrations and dinners. A stage is set up near Mickey’s Fun Wheel, where you can relax to some live bands as you chow down. Themed kiosks are located in the festival marketplace, where you can purchase food and drinks that range around $5-$8.

An AP Corner is available for Annual Passholders, where they can buy a Sip and Savor Pass for $45. The pass includes eight coupons that can be used at the kiosks for food and beverages (except for alcohol). And trust me, it’s well worth your money if you plan to sample a lot of kiosks. The AP Corner also rewards Passholders with special buttons and a chance to take a photo with Ratatouille’s Remy.

Here are some of the items I tried at the festival:

food and wine festival brie toast

Brie Toast with Fig & Mint, Roasted California Almond Crumble

My first stop of the day was the Nuts About Cheese kiosk. It was brunchtime, so I chose the perfect time to try the brie toast. The jam deliciously sweet, and I want to bring a jar of it home to eat with my toast all the time.

food and wine festival

Fried Artichoke Carbonara and Orange Iced Tea with Orange Pearls

I’m not too fond of artichokes, but I still gave the I ♥ Artichokes the booth a chance. And it turned out to be a smart decision. The taste of artichokes in the carbonara wasn’t that noticeable, especially with the garlic aioli topping it off. The smoked bacon bits were a plus for me. It was a scorching day, so the iced tea was refreshing. However, I would have preferred the drink without the orange pearls exploding in my mouth like a fruit gusher.

food and wine festival

Grilled Beef Tenderloin Slider with Garlic Chimichurri Sauce, and Black Garlic & Soy-Braised Pork Belly Bao

Garlic Kissed was one of the best kiosks at the festival! I’m a meat lover, and both were worth buying. The meat was tender, and I plan to stop by this kiosk again the next time I come to the festival.

food and wine festival

Smoked Bacon Mac & Cheese

The mac & cheese from Bacon Twist may not look amazing in the photo, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was also sprinkled with crispy onions. However, the mac & cheese was extremely filling, and I had to take a break from eating before returning to the festival a couple hours later. So if you’re planning to sample more than one item at the festival, steer away from the mac & cheese!

food and wine festival

Verlasso Sustainable Salmon Tataki and Mango Agua Fresca

If you’re in the mood for seafood, stop by the Seafood… Sustained kiosk. Salmon is my favorite seafood, so I couldn’t pass this up! The salmon had the right consistency. I liked the mango aqua fresca because it wasn’t overly sweet, nor did it feel too “syrup-y” when it slid down my throat.

food and wine festival

Korean BBQ Beef Short Rib Tacos with Kimchi Slaw

As someone who lives in LA County, I gravitated towards LA Style. It was another one of my top favorites at the festival. I love Korean BBQ, and these tacos did not disappoint. It invoked memories of walking around LA and being lured to taco trucks by the aroma of the meat.

food and wine festival wagyu beef

Braised Wagyu Beef on Creamy Polenta

The beef from The Onion Lair was admittedly my least favorite food that I tried at the festival. It doesn’t look very attractive in this photo, right? True, many of the other foods I had were also greasy, but seeing all the oil in this food made me cringe. I also didn’t like the consistency of the meat.

food and wine festival

Jackfruit Carnita Banh Mi Nachos

As soon as I saw “jackfruit” in front of the name of these nachos from Off the Cob, I was convinced that I had to try it. Unfortunately, I couldn’t taste the jackfruit as plainly as I wanted. Regardless, I still recommend these nachos. The meat on it is “Pickled” de Gallo.

All in all, I enjoyed most of the food that I tried at the Food and Wine Festival. The food I featured don’t even make up half of the food available at the festival. I plan to visit at least one more time before it ends on April 16. If so, I’ll probably end up posting the other items that I try next time.

If you want to know more about the festival, check out the website here.

 

Leave a Reply

