I Conquered “Guardians of the Galaxy”- Mission: BREAKOUT!

guardians of the galaxy mission breakout

Well, sort of.

I’ve refused to go on Tower of Terror after riding it once a couple years ago at Disney’s California Adventure Park. My number one phobia is falling from extreme heights, and that free-falling ride forced me to confront that fear. And trust me- I did not enjoy it. My friend had to peel me off the seat because I was curled up in a ball. I was trembling all over. I was traumatized.

But I promised my boyfriend I would only ride it if there were any changes made to the ride. Then lo and behold.. Guardians of the Galaxy- Mission: BREAKOUT! was announced.

I couldn’t break my promise, but I’ve been avoiding it the last few times we’ve been at the park. But when we passed by and saw the wait time was only 50 minutes, I knew it was time to get it over with so I would never have to go on it again.

The premise of the ride was that the Guardians were captured by The Collector and were placed among his glass cases of artifacts and creatures in his fortress. Rocket Raccoon escaped his prison and asked you to help him break them out while you were touring the fortress.

As you wait to get on the ride, you were able to walk through the fortress and see some of the various glass displays. They were pretty cool, but they still weren’t enough to ease my anxiety- especially after I heard that Mission: BREAKOUT! is more intense than Tower ever was.

When you entered a different room, you were confronted by an animatronic Rocket, who told you his plan. Admittedly, it was the best animatronic I’ve ever seen. It was life-like, and its movements were so fluid.

But eventually I made it into the actual ride. As soon as our compartment launched straight up, I clutched at my boyfriend and closed my eyes. In fact, my eyes were closed the entire ride. And while everyone else was enjoying the ride, I actually started sobbing audibly. The ride was only 2 minutes long, but I wanted it to end right away. Not even the great soundtrack could make me enjoy the ride. It literally felt like torture to me.

Every time I felt the room drop, I desperately tried to flatten myself to stop the sensations in my stomach. Whenever my body floated slightly above my seat (thank goodness for seatbelts!), I clawed at my boyfriend to pull my body back down.

By the time the ride ended, I was shaking with tears streaming down my face. My boyfriend had a wedgie and red marks on his skin as a result of my panicking. Needless to say, I hated it. And I hope I never have to do it again.

After we left the ride, my boyfriend ended up buying me a cute baby Groot merchandise cup. It took a while to dry my tears and wait for my red nose to return to normal, but I eventually recovered enough to smile for the camera.

guardians of the galaxy mission breakout

Well, now I can say that I actually rode Guardians of the Galaxy- Mission: BREAKOUT! And I can confirm that, yes, I still hate rides with extreme heights and drops.

 

Leave a Reply

